Our Goals

NIȽ TU,O is a First Nations Social Services agency that strives to support, protect and advocate for children and their families, in a culturally relevant approach.  Our goals are to provide voluntary programs and services, while offering resources, safety and support to the community.  We want to build trusting relationships with Communities, while having a hand in strengthening the community as a whole.


Currently NIȽ TU,O Child and Family Services is delegated at Level 13 or C4, Guardianship. This level of delegation enables the delegated agency to provide the following services:

  • Guardianship of children in continuing custody;
  • Support services to families;
  • Voluntary care agreements;
  • Special Needs agreements;
  • Establishing and working with residential resources for children in care.

It is NIȽ TU,O's goal to acheive level C6 delegation within the next 2 years. The areas of service covered under this level include those found in C3 and C4, as well as child protection, which include:

  • receiving, assessing and, as required, investigating reports of child abuse and neglect;
  • deciding the most appropriate course of action if a child is deemed in need of protection;
  • where necessary, removing the child and placing the child in care; and
  • obtaining court orders or taking other measures to ensure the ongoing safety and well-being of the child.

Understanding Operational Stages

After the negotiation of a Delegation Enabling Agreement, each Aboriginal Child and Family Service Agency (ACFSA) enters into a three tiered operational process as defined in the Ministry of Children and Family Development's "Delegation of Authority to Aboriginal Agencies" matrix. The levels of operational readiness are as follows:

C3 - Resource development and voluntary service delivery
C4 - Guardianship services for continuing custody wards
C6 - Full child protection services

Each operational level has specific operational standards and practice standards associated with it. An ACFSA may progress sequentially through operational levels C3 - C6, however, prior to progressing through the levels of delegation, each ACFSA must meet specific operational standards pertaining to the authorities associated with the level of delegation.

C3C3 - (Aboriginal Delegation Matrix)

The areas of service covered under this level include:

  • support services for families,
  • voluntary care agreements for children, including temporary in-home care, and
  • special needs agreements, including those for children in care on no fixed term.

Operational and Practice standards address:

  • case management,
  • family assessment,
  • service planning and agreements,
  • children in voluntary care,
  • standards for care in regular, restricted, and specialized family care homes,
  • monitoring and evaluation, and
  • closure and transfer of cases.

C4C4 (Aboriginal Delegation Matrix)

The areas of service covered under this level include those found in C3, as well as guardianship of children in the continuing custody of the Director. Practice standards for guardianship are similar to those for voluntary care in C3, but also include:

  • develop, monitor and review comprehensive plans of care for children in care,
  • legal documentation,
  • permanency planning for children in care,
  • prepare youth to transition for independence,
  • reportable circumstances,
  • ongoing monitoring of child's well-being while in care, and
  • quality care reviews.

C6C6 (Aboriginal Delegation Matrix)

Practice standards address the following areas:

  • intake,
  • investigation,
  • taking charge of children,
  • risk assessment,
  • risk reduction,
  • ongoing protective family service, and
  • investigate allegations of abuse in foster homes.